Local basketball powerhouse Defence Force has been added to the lineup of the Big Basketball League, bringing the total number of confirmed teams to 7.

The 2017 North Zone Champions join fellow North Zone powerhouse Staker Nets, University of the T&T, East Zone powerhouse Maloney Pacers, South Zone giants Quarters, 2015 North Zone and National Champions Police and East Zone giants Valencia Heat as the confirmed teams to take part in what is expected to be the Biggest Basketball Lime in Trinidad and Tobago.


A major feature of the league, will see 12 minutes duration of a quarter instead of the 10 minutes, and 6 personal fouls allowed, 1 more than usual amount, as the league has adopted 2 of the NBA’s standards.

The fans will have an active role as they will determine by their votes, who will be named the League’s Most Valuable player and they will also determine who will start in the All Star game at the end of the regular season.

At the close of the regular season, the top two teams will play in the best-of-five conference finals, then the two conference winners will play in the best-of-seven championships series, vying for the Cornbread-KK trophy.

Teams that have confirmed participation so far:

Straker Nets


Maloney Pacers


Valencia Heat

University of Trinidad and Tobago

Defence Force

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s